top of page

NAG TIBBA: ANYBODY CAN TREK

Nag tibba is a perfect weekend trek. Its relatively unknown, but for the 1st timer who want to climb 10,000ft, camp under starry night skies and walk on snow Nag Tibba trek is the perfect one. From the top bandarpoonch, swargarohini and gangotri group of peaks are very clear.


I used to go to mountain, high altitude trek, but my dream was I want to be on top of the mountain with my friends. When I told about Nag tibba to my friends they all became very excited, but afraid also as they never done any mountain trek. So, I tried hard to convince all my friend for Nag tibba. We finalize 8th January as our starting date. Me and my 8 other friends (Richa, Tripti, Shyam, Konica, Kriti, Aniruddha, Ankita and deepsikha) packed our bag, catched the train for Dehradun on 8th January. I was a bit tensed as it was the 1st trek for all my friends.

We reached Dehradun by 4:30am. From Dehradun station we hired taxi for Panthwari village. Its a 4hr long journey covering 85km. We finally reached at Panthwari village on 12 noon via Mussoorie–Kempty falls–Nain-Bagh. From here we have to trek 5km to reach our camp.

PANTWARI VILLAGE TO CAMP 1

Its an easy trail, we all were walking slowly and enjoying the beauty of nature. Richa faced some dehydration problem initially, but ORS in water was perfect to keep her fit. We took a lot of picture on the trail. Overall we had a good start for Nag-tibba.


Beside the trail you will found lot’s of colorful flower. Enough opportunity for me to use my camera. View of the trail was awesome. layers of mountain, blue sky, lots of greenery, little village makes the route special. We halted once for lunch brake. Roti with alu-sabji were the perfect lunch. Water was not a problem in this route. Many water source are available within short distance. Finally we reached our camp by 4pm. It’s a perfect spot for camping. In front of our camp sun was getting ready for an amazing sunset, backside a dense forest makes the landscape more dramatic. It’s not the time to seat within the tent. Step outside, and enjoy the beauty.

AMEZING SUNSET

At that evening I witnessed most colorful sunset of my life. Believe me, if you think this picture-set are very colorful, I would say wrong. There is no camera in the world that can capture the real color of the amazing sunset. So, I would request all the viewers at least once go for nag tibba and enjoy the real beauty by your own eyes.

In the previous photo-set I displayed the amazing sunset. Now Please have a look towards the spectators, who were just gone mad. Excitement level were very much clear from their eyes. After sunset temperature dropped very quickly. Chilled wind increased the cold. To save our-self from cold we arranged bonfire. That night we quickly completed our dinner and entered into the sleeping bag. We are all tired so, sleep came very quickly.

CAMP 1 TO NAG TIBBA SUMMIT (9915 FT)

Next day morning we all get up early and started trekking by 7am. It was a long day so early start was required. After 30 minute hike snow appeared on our trail. Snow was comfortable enough to walk and for making snowball. Our team was fully excited and we easily cover the forest trail. We reached the Nag tibba base (8530ft) by 9am. From Nag tibba base it was step climb. This route was bit tiring for my friends but they all were excited to reach the top.




Finally around 11am we summit Nag tibba (9915ft). I know its not a big number, but trekking is not about number. Its all about enjoyment. Just see the excitement of my friends. They came to the mountain for first time. They only heard summit word in books, now for the first time they stand on top of a mountain. I feel very proud for all my friends. I used to go to high altitude trek, climbing on nag tibba is not very special for me. But seeing my friends on mountain gave me a special feeling.

View from the top was amazing. Sky was clear, so we got a clear view of Bandarpoonch, Swargarohini and gangotri group of peaks. Layers of mountain merged with the blue sky makes the landscape picture perfect.

After spending an hour on the summit we started our return journey. Its the same route, the only difference was we were now descending. As it was a weekend trek, so you have no time to relax. The total trek finished very quickly. But the small trek gave me huge return. Seeing my friends on top of the mountain was the biggest achievement for me, and definitely the colorful sunset. Nag tibba trek is simply my weekend dream.


FOOTNOTES: My first trek with indiahikes, enjoyed a lot. Hopefully go for more in future.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page